top of page

#MCM #MondayMemories


Today my MCM would definitely have to be J.Cole. J. Cole is a 29 year old from North Carolina who is bringing back artist development. I took the liberty of reviewing his album 2014 Forest Hills Drive:

As well all know, J.Cole third album has dropped. I am excited that Cole came back so soon and he gets better each year!! 2014 Forest Hills Drive is the best album Cole has released. The message behind his album is inspiring, spiritual and uplifting. I enjoyed the intro, he kept asking about finding inner happiness and for listeners who pay attention; this will make them think.

“January 28TH” was a good spiritual song. Cole touched sensitive subjects such as Mike Brown and Trayvon Martin. “What’s the price for a black man’s life? No zeroes in sight.” I am actually glad he did this song because he included a great deal of history along with Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and how a black man’s life is completely different from a white man’s life in society. “January 28th,” was completely necessary because I feel people of my generation and ethnicity need to hear this song. It really makes you think about how black people are portrayed in society then and now. “Don’t let them take control… Don’t let them take your soul.” Cole clearly breaks down how he feels about everything and I love that he said, “Yeah, I said something.” (2:24)

Now with “Wet Dreamz” and “03’ Adolescence,” Cole explains his attitude throughout high school. In Wet Dreamz, he’s talking about his first high school love and for him to completely open up to his listeners about every detail and feeling was impressive. On the other hand, “03’ Adolescence,” was more detail about the ups and downs he went through growing up. What attracted me to this song was the conversation between him and one of his friends. Not too many rappers break down conversations in their songs and I appreciate Cole for doing that because it did give me light on what he was going through.

With that said, I absolutely have no words for “A Tale of 2 Citiez” and “Fire Squad.” He clearly explained the difference between the city he came from and the city he lived in while attending college. He did a great job explaining his situations and deciding between good and bad. I also enjoyed the fact that Beyoncé and Swizz Beats were in the vocals throughout the track. This song is definitely one of my favorites. Thus, with that said, Cole knew what he was doing with “Fire Squad.” Cole let people know where his state of mind was/is. He flowed his rhymes flawlessly about how he ignored all his haters and continued to believe in himself. Cole didn’t sugar coat anything. He went H.A.M. on this track. I would compare this track to “2 Faced” from his mixtape Friday Night Lights due to how much emotion he put behind it.

Throughout the album, J. Cole had a little 90’s, jazz, and of course his style. I enjoyed it start-to-finish. I usually can’t do that with too many albums. I’m not going to review each track because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone else. I feel, 2014 Forest Hills Drive is The Best Hip Hop album of the year; due to the fact that Cole is not holding back anything! His breakthrough is here and he’s keeping it real. I honestly appreciate his music because he’s blunt about everything and along very few rappers; Cole is keeping Hip Hop game. Overall, great album and I highly recommend everyone listening to it. His album is like a movie and only real music lovers know what I’m talking about... #Coleworld #Dreamville

Also with MCM, I want to start #MondayMemories:

I remember when Busta Rhymes “Break ya neck came out.” I was 8, didn’t know what kind of music it was until my uncle informed me to different styles of hip-hop. After this song, I begin branching out listening to other artists. So this Monday, my memory is the day I began to diversify my music playlist. Tweet me your #MondayMemories..


bottom of page