top of page

#WCW

I personally know this rapper and she’s pure fire! Her mixtape Wonderland is amazing. Dive made me think of that first love I had and was in my personal wonderland. I really liked the track, it’s a nice sexy track for the ladies to sing to their men. She did an outstanding job painting that sexy picture for me as well as her fans. After listening to Clarity, I could definitely relate to what she was preaching. Clarity is one my favorite tracks, I could hear her emotions and feel her pain. After Hearing Operate, I fell in love. I enjoyed the beat and with Saniyah X’s lovely voice coming in, it soothed me. I love how she painted the picture of going out with her sister and having a great time. After listening to Legacy and Final Destination, it’s clear that someone needs to pick up this talented rapper. Her voice is as soothing as Lauryn Hill, but with the aggression of Kendrick Lamar. I highly recommend Wonderland to every young woman because this mixtape not only gave me inspiration, but strength. I take my hat off to Saniyah X. I can relate to her and I’m pretty sure a lot of other women can too. Keep doing your thing girl #motivation. Luckily for me, I could catch Saniyah X for an interview!

OURERA (OE): what are the trials and tribulations about being a female rapper in modern society?

Saniyah X (SX): Trials & tribulations are having to prove my worth & lyrics in a male dominated industry & remaining true to myself in a world saturated in sex.

OE: what do you do in your free time?

SX: In my free time I write music & poetry, watch anime, travel, go to live shows, on a constant search for inspiration.

OE: if you could work with any producer, who and why?

SX: I would work with Kanye West. I fell in love with his production & delivery simultaneously when I was introduced to College Dropout.

OE: If you could feature in any show what would it be?

SX: If I could feature on any show, it would have been Breaking Bad. It'd be pretty cool to be drawn as an anime character too.

OE: How do you feel about what's going on in modern America and racism?

SX: I feel like on the surface we played friendly for a while but in the days following Trayvon Martin & Mike Brown, our generation is taking more notice to the evil that's been there all along & we're speaking against what we know isn't right & fighting for the same equality that our ancestors strived for.

Strong words from a strong woman! Follow her on Facebook & Soundcloud


bottom of page